Winners of the Black History Committee Car Show

By Delanda S. Johnson/HCBHC

The Henderson County Black History Committee held its 6th Annual Car, Truck and Motorcycle Show Saturday, Aug. 4 at the Malakoff High School.

This was the last big event for the Black History Committee before issuing college funds to the 2018 Scholarship recipients who start college in September.

“We are thankful to all who participated in our car show and for the businesses, casinos, hotels, etc. who donated prizes for us to raffle off in support of our scholarship fund,” said Rev. Joey Baggett, Black History Committee president.

To close out the year, the Black History Committee will host an amateur spades tournament on Oct. 6 at the Malakoff Community Center. For more information, contact Gloria Hunter at 903-675-4550, Derryl Jackson at 903-275-1330, or Bea Anderson at 903-288-6857.

Winners include

80’s and older trucks — Back row, from left, Glen Austin, 4th place; Johnny Dickerson, 3rd place; Terry Patrick, 2nd place; front row, from left, Rev. Joey Baggett and Sandy Riffenburg, 1st place.

80’s and older cars — From left, Carol Phillips, 2nd place; Freddie Lise, 4th place; Vernell Hunter, 5th place; Walt Riffenburg, 3rd place; and Kim Bell, 1st place.

81 and newer trucks — From left, Rev Baggett, Willie Arkansas, 4th place; Jasper Davis, 1st place; Garland Wilson, 3rd place; and Jimmie Doughlas, 2nd place.

81 and newer cars — From left, Rev. Baggett, Curtis Jackson, 1st place; Blake Fields, 2nd place.

Motorcycles — From left, Rev. Baggett, Darrell Paris, 1st place; Sandy Riffenburg, 3rd place; James Gregg, 2nd place.

Best in Show, Best Interior, Best Engine, Best Paint — Carol Phillips accepting for her husband, Frank. Rev Baggett and Tanner Patrick help Mrs. Phillips show off all the awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *